Co-founder of the Yardbirds, Jim McCarty, continues to lead this ground-breaking British Invasion Rock band that provides the crucial link between the Blues, British R&B, Psychedelic Rock, and Heavy Metal, while pioneering the use of innovations like fuzztone, feedback and distortion. This drummer, singer, songwriter, and producer is said to be one of the driving forces responsible for the band’s haunting sound.

Since the birth of the band from 1963 to 1968, to its 1992 induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and ultimately, the 2003 reformation, the Yardbirds have been revered for the legendary guitarists who have contributed to the band’s history including Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page.

The Yardbirds currently feature a lineup of top musicians, notably lead guitarist Godfrey Townsend (John Entwistle, Alan Parsons, Todd Rundgren, Ann Wilson of Heart, Christopher Cross, Dave Mason and musical director of the Turtles’ Happy Together tour) bassist Kenny Aaronson (Bob Dylan, Hall & Oates, Billy Idol, Derringer, Joan Jett) and lead singer/guitarist John Idan who lends his distinct vocals to the Yardbirds’ 2003 “Birdland” album featuring guest appearances from both Steve Vai and Slash. The current band has recently completed work on an upcoming live album soon to be released.

The band’s hallmark of top-notch musicianship remains. There are no passengers in this band.” –Goldmine Magazine